This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

WAP Without MEF

Mar 16, 2014 at 5:44 AM
Hi,

I am new to WAF and I am having a hard time to use it without MEF. I was going through the samples supplied with WAF assemblies. I would like to initialize my child ViewModels without using MEF. Child ViewModel will be bound to child controls at run time (for supplying DataContext). I do not have any window at Presentation layer only User Controls. My child ViewModel and User control implements I<ChildViewName>View. Now I want to initialize all child ViewModels inside ShellViewModel (I have exposed all child ViewModel as properties of ShellViewModel). When you use MEF constructor of ViewModel would be automatically called passing View's object but as I am not using MEF, how I can pass object of my respective User controls while initializing respective child ViewModel.

For example how I can initialize this manually:
public EmployeeInfoViewModel(IEmployeeInfoView view)
            : base(view)
        {
            this.showEmployeeValuesCommand = new DelegateCommand(GetEmployeeValues);
        }
in the ShellViewModel constructor:
public ShellViewModel(IShellView view)
        {
            EmployeeInfoViewModel = new EmployeeInfoViewModel(
        }
Coordinator
Mar 16, 2014 at 3:22 PM
If the ShellViewModel is responsible to create other ViewModels per code then it needs all necessary information to do this:
public ShellViewModel(IShellView view, IEmployeeInfoView employeeInfoView) : base(view)
{
    EmployeeInfoViewModel = new EmployeeInfoViewModel(employeeInfoView);
}
However, such code might get cumbersome in medium size or larger applications. I recommend the usage of the Dependency Injection or the Service Locator pattern.

See also: Introduction of the IoC container concept.
Mar 16, 2014 at 5:18 PM
Edited Mar 16, 2014 at 5:21 PM